Camshafts..

naughtika

OzVR4 Stalker
First Name
Christian
Drive
'96 Galant VR4, '17 MB A180, '25 Macan GTS
hey fellas. I was talking to another member about camshafts..

would there be any point of upgrading the cams to a better set of profile?!

I've read somewhere that sometimes replacing turbo spec cams to NA spec ones.. they do better jobs/or somewhat give you better performance?!

AUSVR4

Leaving Skid Marks
First Name
Dan
Drive
'00 Mitsubishi Legnum
Not knowing much about these engines I'd say there wouldn't be much point while you have minor mods.

Generally cams are the last thing to change after intercooler, exhaust, turbos. The cams are pretty well set up to the low-end nature of the stock turbo's and the nature of the V6. I wouldn't think about changing them unless I put some (or one) bigger turbo's on.

But then like I said I'm a noob to these engines and I come from 4 cylinders with big turbo's and 272 cams!

naughtika

OzVR4 Stalker
First Name
Christian
Drive
'96 Galant VR4, '17 MB A180, '25 Macan GTS
i think i read in msport.co.nz that someone replaced their 6a12TT cams with a 6A12NA cams.. and worked like a treat..

gains vs cost wasn't much compared to aftermarket cams suited to TT models..

bradc

1 AYC Bar
First Name
Brad
Drive
Facelift Manual 400hp VR-4 Legnum
fact is that we don't actually know what spec the stock cams are! Until we know that I don't think it is worth trying to put new cams on them

jungle

3 AYC Bars
Lifetime Member
First Name
Simon
Drive
1 PFL & 1 FL Legnum
fact is that we don't actually know what spec the stock cams are! Until we know that I don't think it is worth trying to put new cams on them

That's spot on Brad. Put it this way, the cams from the NA nissan RB25 are the SAME as the turbo cams. So find out first.

If i end up rebuilding this motor, ill let you know what they are as i'll measure them.