I need help from someone with spray painting experience please

godzilla

1 AYC Bar
First Name
Trevor
Drive
1/19 2002 FL Legnum Type 'S' Manual in Black with Suede Recaro's!
I bought some touch up paint in a spray can (Pearl White) yesterday from Autobarn. The job at task was to paint a couple of vents i bought from there too, to fill a gaping hole i currently have in my front bar.

Now, after painting the little vents, i thought it would be a smashing idea to flick some of the touch up paint in the area around the hole, to help the new bright-n-shiny vents blend in. At the same time, there was some very dodgy touch ups done from previous owner so i thought i would try and fix them too.

I had some 800grit wet and dry sand paper so i washed the area then proceeded to knock the top off the current paint in and around the area. I taped up the head lights and fog lights and a few other areas and also part of the front bar. i started painting and realized it was not an exact match. The tricky thing is, this particular paint is in two parts - base then top coat (pearl). I wanted to blend it in but thought it would be ok.

Below are the results. What i need to know now is how do i finish the job? Should i rub that area back again with an even finer grit wet & dry or do i just use a cut polish? I have also noticed where i painted is not perfectly smooth so should i sand or buff that back?

Anywho, any help more than appreciated.

Attachments

• paint job.jpg
    paint job.jpg
    289.9 KB · Views: 115
  • paint job1.jpg
    paint job1.jpg
    295.2 KB · Views: 115

junior

Leaving Skid Marks
First Name
Gary
Drive
2000 Type S Legnum
Trevor, check the yellow pages, there should be people in your area that will mix paint according to your colour code and put it in a spary can, costs around $30. get a can of that and just rub back where you have painted already and then apply the new stuff, should do the job, has done for me in the past.

Gary

godzilla

1 AYC Bar
First Name