Pics: Found metal bits and pieces attached to the magnetic sump plug upon ATF fluid change

dimi_108

Leaving Skid Marks
First Name
Dimi
Drive
NSX/Magna/M5
Time for a rebuild yeah?
Will the car be able to be driven for now or should i just get it rebuilt now?

Transmission seems fine at the moment.

And upon search, i saw how Gilly found pieces of his wavespring during his fluid flush but the car remained driveable for some time. Maybe even up until now?

Cheers guys :)

PS: This is from my GT-A. But as you know, we do share the same transmission.

IMG_1382.jpg

qball

1 AYC Bar
First Name
David
Drive
1999 White Legnum Type S Cold Spec with Recaros+Sunroof
I would certainly be getting it inspected. You may be able to just get away with having the wave spring replaced

minxy74

Leaving Skid Marks
First Name
Andrew
Drive
HJ Galant , CM5A GSR (project)
im a tranny specalist by trade i would be getting it looked at the wave spring can be changed in car and mitsubishi have made a new spring for that transmission if u leave it bit of the spring find their way into the pump and they break it rendering the car undriveable.

G

Unregistered
Same thing happened in my previous legnum. It needed a full rebuild.

bradc

1 AYC Bar
First Name
Brad
Drive
Facelift Manual 400hp VR-4 Legnum
I would get it pulled apart and checked to make sure the other parts aren't somewhere else where they shouldn't be. Then once you've done that, get a new stronger wave spring put in.

dimi_108

Leaving Skid Marks
First Name
Dimi
Drive
NSX/Magna/M5
Cool :)

I'm going to phone around tomorrow to see who can rebuild it for me and get it towed there.
For my Legnum, I remember Mark at Hills Motorsport quoted me $2500 for strengthened rebuild including fluids and R&R back in 2008.

I guess the only problem is getting someone to actually work on it and get it finished without just doing bits here and there (whenever they're feeling bored), neglecting it and taking their sweet time.