Need help negotiating with buying a new car.

Jimmy_EC5W

Leaving Skid Marks
First Name
James
Drive
1998 Pearl White Legnum, Atlas Grey VN SS
Hi Guys,

Need some serious help here - jokes in this thread is not appreciated.

This is going to be my first car new car. And I have never been so stressed out about it. I actually hate buying a new card, as I never thought it would be this hard.

I'm not good at negotiating but I've never had to or had experience. I'm usually the one who feels bad about ones feelings meaning paying the asking price etc..

I've been doing some serious research about negotiating tactics but they don't clearly explain what to actually do.

I've seen some people who get full quoted RRP for a car and get at least 10% discount. Now obviously I realise at this stage full RRP is a starting point for negotiating and no one ever pays that. But what do I say? What do I do?

I'm not a pushy type of person either, I could get conned into paying for full on most things - i.e - hate asking for a discount because I feel bad.

Either way I've already test driven, he's quoted RRP and now we're communicating via email.

I'm actually nervous about this whole situation and really shouldn't be.

I mean, even if you guys gave examples of good sales you've done and how you achieved it?

Please help!

BFun

Leaving Skid Marks
First Name
Ben
Drive
'99 Legnum VR-4 Type-S
Dont get caught up on price, that should be the last thing you talk about. Male sure he knows youre interested in the car but also that youre willing to walk away if the deal isnt right. Compare it to other cars that are cheaper or better equipped. Say you like the car, but there are others in the same price range which are competitive alternatives (there probably are, anyway) and ask him if he can make your choice a little easier.