NZ New member, old car

Gazza

Idling at the Lights
First Name
Gareth
Drive
1995 Galant Sports GT, 1996 GTO, 1990 GTO twin turbo
Hi, I got a bit too bored recently during the lockdown and put a cheeky bid on a car in NZ and ended up winning the auction. So I'm now the proud owner of a '95 Galant Sport GT. Technically not a VR-4 but really it is. I've had a bit of a scan through these forums and I'm wondering if I'm in the right place, everything seems to be 8th generation here?

I'm new to the Galant but I know my way around the GTO and a couple of other Mitsi models. I'm based in VIC at the moment, waiting for the borders to open to get back to all my tools and project car in Adelaide. So right now I have a GTO in VIC, another one in SA, another one in NZ and the Galant GT in NZ.

It's a pretty neat car, I'm looking forward to having a drive as soon as they open the borders again. 6A12TT in the original VR-4 / GTO orientation, probably so they didn't have to redesign the transmission until the next generation. It's an auto but I don't really mind, it's more of a cruiser for me. All of my GTOs are manual.

jyffin4q.e5z.jpg

rhef0nm3.ibn.jpg

Gt_Galant

EC5A
First Name
Fred
Drive
Galant
:) :) !! Welcome To OzVR4 !! :) :)

NICE !!! Haha, my favourite of all the Galants, they are not a bad car, I actually owned 2 of them in Sydney actually (GTRV) for like 8yrs, I prefer the GT because no abs in it and lift back/hatch instead of sedan, even tho I love the sedans but they looked abit weird.

Sadly sold them both to the one person, with the automatic, the gearbox’s aren’t that great and breakdown a lot.

If somehow it makes it to Australia and wanna sell let me know haha

Gazza

Idling at the Lights
First Name
Gareth
Drive
Thanks for the welcome! Part of the reason for joining up is to see what the situation is with these cars over here and whether it's worth bringing it over. I think I probably will. I haven't seen one over here before.