VR-4 Speedo - 180kmh max; can it be bypassed?

Taraska

Leaving Skid Marks
First Name
Taraska
Drive
Black VR-4!!!!!!
Hi guys. Can anyone please tell me about the speedo. Its says 180 but we all know it will go at least 240. Does it mean that been limited? and if it is what will hapend if you try to go faster? And is there a way to unlock the limiter? I am not very good with technical stuff so please dont make any jocks.
Taras

BuzzPuppy

OZVR4 Ambassador
Lifetime Member
First Name
Gavin
Drive
レグナム Super VR-4
There's info on this @ ClubVR4 where it is speed limited to 180km/h but it's a relatively straight-forward mod (cutting a wire to the ECU I believe, but wise to check) to remove it.

Also, there are dashboards that you can find that go even higher than the stated 180km/h, and bradc modded his as well but it's quite pricey.

G

Unregistered
all japanese cars are speed limited 180km and 206kw under the 'gentlemens agreement' in japan. you can bypass the 180km limiter by installing a speed cut defender (not expensive) but in order for it to make a purpose you'll need a new speedo to show higher than 180km. although there's not really any point as 110km is the fastest you can legally go anyway.

also, if you hit speed cut you'll experience a severe whiplash like jolt as the car cuts all power. kinda of like rev limiter.

BuzzPuppy

OZVR4 Ambassador
Lifetime Member
First Name
Gavin
Drive
レグナム Super VR-4
Even the Northern Territory now enforce their upper speed limit of 130km/h since last year :(

Taraska

Leaving Skid Marks
First Name
Taraska
Drive
Black VR-4!!!!!!
Thanks guys. I am not planing to go very fast but just would like to know if it can be done.
Taras

G

Unregistered
or you can get an Apexi RSM, which will cut the speed limiter, but also stop the needle at 170km/h, and show your actual speed on its display.

BuzzPuppy

OZVR4 Ambassador
Lifetime Member
First Name
Gavin
Drive
レグナム Super VR-4