COIL ON PLUG setup for the VR4

merlin

Leaving Skid Marks
First Name
David
Drive
Evolution IX
Recent tuning has shown the need for a better ignition setup on the V6.
To this end, I have been discussing possabilities with Mark Boxel, aka GT-PUMPS, in Sydney.

Mark has produced the COP setup that a lot of the Evo runners are using, myself included.
He is keen to develope a kit, but he will need access to a head, or both heads, if the mounting layout is different between the two.
Probably for only a week or two he thinks.

So we need someone in Sydney to be the guinne pig, so-to-speak.

Any one interested?

And could I get a starting show of hands for those who would buy if the pricing was for example 600-700. I dont know what the price will be, thats
just a rough guess, dont hold me to it!

Slinz

1 AYC Bar
First Name
Tom
Drive
Grubby Nissan
If we could get them down to SA for not much postage as a group and possibly even a discounted install as a group (as I am a noob and have no idea how to go about anything lead/plug related) I would probably be interested at that sort of price.

smitty

Sm'arter than the aver'age bear...!
First Name
Alex
Drive
98 FL Galant Type S Manual, FG XR6, VY Acclaim, MQ Triton GLS
Im definitely interested, but I'm in the wrong state for being the guinea pig

qball

1 AYC Bar
First Name
David
Drive
1999 White Legnum Type S Cold Spec with Recaros+Sunroof
If he wants a quick look my car will be at Meek on Wednesday

bradc

1 AYC Bar
First Name
Brad
Drive
Facelift Manual 400hp VR-4 Legnum
I was wondering that too Scott. I'm guessing it fires all of the plugs still, but has individual coil packs.

merlin

Leaving Skid Marks
First Name
David
Drive
Evolution IX
^ bradc is correct, like the Evo setup, coils are fired in pairs.

It is still wasted spark, without the losses. In addition, all plugs get the electricty jumping the gap in the right direction, which improves the spark.