Driving from Perth to Sydney

king_panther

Gettin' tanked
First Name
Brad
Drive
2012 VW Caddy 1.6TDI 7-Speed DSG. Still crappy DSG.....
Curious to hear from anyone on here who's driven across the Nullabor before? Am looking at driving from Perth to Sydney but I've only been as far west as Mildura.

Things to look out for, places to stay or refuel. Warnings about wildlife etc...

I've never done it before but am entertaining the prospect but yea it's a long trip.

Keen to hear from anyone!

mcs

Leaving Skid Marks
First Name
Mark
Drive
1997 Galant VR-4
I've been across, seriously is just a whole bunch of nothing, very barron and boring driving, not much in terms of scenery till you hit the coasts.

Its beautiful in its own way, but for hours on end its a bit much.

there are long stretches without fuel or anything, so prob best to carry a jerry, and make sure you have a good spare just incase of a puncture.

At night if there's been recent rain, watch out as the roo's come and drink off road/side of road, thats generally along the nullabor.

Most of the places you stay at are pretty average, the 150km staight is very boring and tedious, also watch out for the large trucks on the road, plenty of oversized trucks that pop out of nowhere.

jet150

Anyone thirsty?
Premium Member
First Name
Rob
Drive
VR4
I was told never to stop for a nap in the middle of nowhere cos, the natives appear out of the blue and try to rob ya.

True story this happened to a mate of mine and they stole his cd collection. Also if they stop you on the road and ask to borrow a tool or something never open the door or window.

king_panther

Gettin' tanked
First Name
Brad
Drive
LOL Well I was born here so that makes me a native, or are you referring to our darker skinned brothers who we stole the land from? :p

Don't worry I have my wits about me!

ozy

Idling at the Lights
First Name
adam
Drive
99 legnum vr4, 89 celica gt4