Driving from Perth to Sydney

king_panther

Gettin' tanked
First Name
Brad
Drive
2012 VW Caddy 1.6TDI 7-Speed DSG. Still crappy DSG.....
Curious to hear from anyone on here who's driven across SA? Am looking at driving from Perth to Sydney but I've only been as far west as Mildura. I've never driven in South Australia or across the Great Australian Bight.

Things to look out for, places to stay or refuel. Warnings about wildlife etc...

I've never done it before but am entertaining the prospect but yea it's a long trip.

Keen to hear from anyone!

bogan bob

1 AYC Bar
First Name
Dion
Drive
'15 Amarok
Ive done a fair bit of driving across country SA, Vic, NSW and WA but never the same trip :(. Whats the purpose of your trip - a holiday, bring a car back from Perth or work....?

When the guys came over from Perth to buy my V35, they were able to run it on BP ultimate the whole way home, thats how frequent BP servos are. Theres plenty to do and see along the way, the giant Galah at Kimba, take a couple of hrs detour up to the southern flinders ranges and lake torrens (was up there a few weeks ago and its pretty spectacular at the moment), the giant farmer at Wudinna, the limestone cliffs and blowholes at Streaky bay. It would depend on what you're interested in, i can offer recommendations on accommodation for most of the areas above, where the best pub meals etc are

Only really the roos that you have to look out for wildlife wise, the route you take back to sydney from SA will decide how much danger they present. West of Dubbo is supposed to be pretty bad as the populations have just exploded with all the food around for them at the moment but just drive with your eyes open whereever you go and you should be right :p

would be an epic trip and you would see heaps if you could take a few weeks to do it

king_panther

Gettin' tanked
First Name
Brad
Drive