Stock boost control functionality

Kaldek

2 AYC Bars
Premium Member
First Name
Ed
Drive
2000 Legnum VR4 Manual, Ford Territory family runabout, BMW K1300R.
Hi folks, I'm still new to the VR4 and so I wanted to ask some questions that don't appear to be answered anywhere else.

Stock boost control
It looks like the stock car just uses mechanical boost control (i.e. wastegate spring) to control the boost. There is no electronic boost controller in the stock ECU (unlike, say, my XR6 turbo), and the ECU has no view of the boost pressure, just the airflow. Correct?

Boost cut/Fuel Cut
Given there isn't (I assume) an electronic boost controller, the boost cut is a function of the ECU airflow tables. Once you head too far "outside the box" - so to speak - the ECU cuts ignition. Correct?

fieldy107

1 AYC Bar
First Name
Chris
Drive
Galant VR4
ECU does control boost via a solenoid. Waste pressure is about 6-7 psi I think and ECU usually set at around 9-10 psi. If you get the ECU tuned you can remove boost cut and run up to around 18 psi depending on supporting mods.

Kaldek

2 AYC Bars
Premium Member
First Name
Ed
Drive
Great, good to know. Second question - where is the stock solenoid located? The car currently has an Apexi AVC-R fitted and I've disabled all the boost maps in it, so to my mind that means I need to have the stock boost controller connected otherwise boost will be a tad sluggish, right?

Kaldek

2 AYC Bars
Premium Member
First Name
Ed
Drive
OK I think I found the solenoid and Boost sensor. About three inches below the throttle body, and slightly towards the front of the motor. Looks like two separate devices, connected in a daisy chain.

Seems like the boost solenoid has no vac hoses heading to it, but the boost sensor does - probably to stop it throwing a code.

G

Unregistered
English version of same diagram, also with notes for plumbing in an EBC.

boost hosing diagram.jpg