Are the Dump Pipes worth it?

VR4Rocket

Leaving Skid Marks
First Name
Kevin
Drive
Was a Ralliart Colt, was a 1997 Toyota Aristo was a 1996 Legnum..Now an XR5 Turbo
Hey guys

I know a few of you have purchased the dump pipes....are they worth the $430 price for them? I mean really...really really????? I am pulling about 165kw on a dyno with metal piping, Haltech, FMIC and 2.5inch cat back....would I expect more power from these things?

ygoslo

1 AYC Bar
First Name
Tim
Drive
91 Silvia, 97 Galant
That's the problem I have with most mods for the VR4. The $-kw ratio just doesn't work for me...

I'm sure these will give you a gain - most people seem to report gains in the single figure range - but whether they're worth such a big investment is another question.

mookers

puri puri
First Name
Derek
Drive
CL9 Accord Euro Lux, GE Jazz VTi, Evil Supervillain Chair, Homemade Portable Square Drumkit
I have them, and didn't think it was a hell of lot of money. Of course I'm a newbie at owning and modifying a turbo car. Is it faster? A bit, yeah. But I didn't expect huge gains. I got them in preparation for future ECU or boost control mods.

They make your turbos sound really mean though :)

VR4Rocket

Leaving Skid Marks
First Name
Kevin
Drive
Was a Ralliart Colt, was a 1997 Toyota Aristo was a 1996 Legnum..Now an XR5 Turbo
I can promise you though I can here my turbo's spooling up, blow off valve...blowing...hmmm and air fliter sucking in the air....it just seems you can almost buy 2 turbos for this price......

frozen

1 AYC Bar
Lifetime Member
First Name
Josh
Drive
1990 Mitsubishi GTO
Formerly: 1996 Galant VR-4
2 turbos for $430? jeez doubt they'd be any good hahaha :D