Drive
1997 Legnum VR-4
2017 Subaru BRZ
2001 Audi S4 - SOLD
2010 Chevy Cobalt SS - SOLD
1990 Chevy C/K 350 - SOLD
1998 Eclipse GS-T - SOLD
Hey everyone,

As I'm starting to actually drive this car I'm experiencing some weird issues... I don't think either of these are related to each other though.

#1. I cannot go wide open throttle. If I do, the car starts to breakup, maybe fuel cut? I'm still learning what modifications were done as it was not documented. I have no boost controller that I'm aware of, and the boost gauge is reading roughly 14psi when pushed.

#2. When driving normally, I sometimes get the TCL and an engine light on my dash. If I turn off the car and restart they disappear. This comes up almost everytime I go for a drive. I read that it may be a battery issue? But wouldn't that show the battery light?

Thanks in advance for the feedback. Picture to lighten the mood

IMG_20190511_094649.jpg

naughtika

OzVR4 Stalker
First Name
Christian
Drive
'96 Galant VR4, '17 MB A180, '25 Macan GTS
hey mate, i believe your issues are the following

1. Spark Plugs - if you are getting hesitation while on WOT, and not fully hit the brick wall kind of feeling. replace the spark plugs with Denso VK22 (they last longer the NGK BKR7EIX) worse case, your ignition coils are on the way out. Normally saw these happen in Australia though due to harsh ambient temp than Japan (your case Canada)

2. look for the white canister on the firewall in your engine bay. I bet you have hairline crack/s on this canister. Knowing it's PFL Auto. It will have this

goodluck

jungle

3 AYC Bars
Lifetime Member
First Name
Simon
Drive
1 PFL & 1 FL Legnum
In addition to what Christian has said, 6-7 psi is stock so you most likely have a bleed valve for an unnoticed boost controller. The car actually comes with an ECU controlled boost controller from factory, however for it to work the ECU needs to be re-flashed. So those are some reasons you are running 14psi.

What RPM does it get hesitation?